Revenge Film Club (for the holidays)

  • A weekly club to discuss films about revenge, in conjunction with the release of Max Haiven’s book Revenge Capitalism. Noon Pacific, 3pm Eastern, 8pm London on Tuesdays, Dec 15-Jan 12.
  • Watch the films when you like, where you like. Join Max and special guests for a 90-minute informal conversation on Zoom. Participants who wish to make a more semi-formal presentation are welcome.
  • Registration free, open to all, and is limited to ensure a convivial atmosphere. Preference given to those who can attend all five sessions.

Join RiVAL: ReImagining Value Action Lab this December and January for a special online film club focusing on screening and discussing the politics and poetics of revenge, co-sponsored by Pluto Press.

The film club is free and open to people around the world. It will take place at 3pm Eastern Time (noon Pacific, 8pm London, 9pm Central Europe, 7am Sydney).

The schedule of films is as follows:

  • December 15 – Parasite (2019) – Special guest: Eunsong Kim
  • December 22 – Inglorious Basterds (2009) Special guest: Anna-Esther Younes
  • December 29 – Bacurau (2019) Special guest: Phanuel Antwi
  • January 5 – Nine to Five (1980) Special guest: Kate Doyle Griffiths
  • January 12 – V for Vendetta (2005) Special guest: Joshua Clover

The club is hosted by Max Haiven (Canada Research Chair in Culture, Media and Social Justice) and celebrates the release of his book Revenge Capitalism: The Ghosts of Empire, the Demons of Capital, and the Settling of Unpayable Debts earlier this year (available for a 50% discount until December 9th).

The club will meet on Tuesdays from December 15 through January 12, each week featuring special guests, presentations and conversation.

In most episodes club members will be joined by a special guest to discuss the film in question and its relationship to the radical struggles of our present day against capitalism, colonialism, racism, patriarchy etc. There will be a facilitated conversation and perhaps breakout groups.

Anyone can participate. Registration is limited and the club will take place on the Zoom platform. Our aim is to build a temporary community of insight, enjoyment and radical imagination. Participants will be responsible for screening each film before the meeting and have the option of contributing a short (15-min) structured presentation, if they so choose.

Registration is required through this form. Preference will be given to those who can commit to attending all five meetings: https://forms.gle/pTp9Sk6m8n9qT9pT6

Registration for Holiday Revenge Film Club

If interest is strong, the film club may persist into the future beyond the five initial instances.

For more information, please email info.rival [at] lakeheadu [dot] ca